When someone treats you like you don’t exist . . .

When someone treats you like you don’t exist,

who you shared your bed with

the most vulnerable thoughts in your head with,

who held your hand tenderly in theirs . . .

Where do you go with that?

How not to have love turn to hate?

Bitterness, Irrate

Anger.

I don’t want to give him that power

even though in stony silence he

tries to strip me of mine,

But really how does someone you shared your

most heartfelt self, your soul

treat you like utter crapt?

I don’t understand it & I never, ever

want to.

To understand how to turn the heart into cement would cause me to crumble.

So I try, very hard, to have this deep

knife wound, not destroy me,

not close off my heart as his is,

not dry up my tears . . .

Because i know to feel

whether joy or sorrow

is to be truely alive

& to keep one’s heart open

& that is the greatest love i can give this

dark, dreary world,

whether it deserves it

or not,

I do this for me.

Leave a Reply

