Love in the Desert

I will choose to love you
even as you negate me.
I will Love you
even as you hate me.
Or is it stone cold apathy
that i try to fill with the waters of my Love.
To yell into a canyon
& only hear my own echos
shouting back at me
over time.
It is emptiness.
It is desolation how you are with me.
And yet I choose to love you
because I invested my whole heart with you,
stupidly . . . or not,
And to hate you is to negate myself.
I am sorry though that you can’t even respond
to the sound of my cries.
Like a shrieking bird dying of thirst in the landscape
it once called home.
Leave a Reply

